Back in March this year, the ‘not doing so well’ Psychopsis orchid started to grow what I thought a keiki on the old flower stem. It was not a keiki after all, but it is a flower bud. Today it has started to grow bigger and I can see the spots.

The miserable looking orchid plant has only two leaves left. Lately they started to grow bigger, thicker and greener. The weird looking bulbs kind of small, rounded and flat. I know that this orchid is sequential, which means that flowers keep on growing along the same old stem for many years non stop. Mine used to have two stems, but it is only one left and I cut the tip earlier this year as it had gone black. Oh well, it was not a keiki but I am having a flower and I cannot complain anymore.

Psychopsis papilio in March this year: ‘Not a Keiki’

Psychopsis papilio today:

December 04, 2016:

The shape of Psychopsis papilio flowers is very unusual, so I am curious to see the flower stages from a bud until it is fully open. Days passed and slowly it started to crack open today.

………………. To be continued.