Last year around June I bought 3 orchids: Zygopetalum maculatum, Oncidium ‘Dancing Lady’ and Beallara ‘Eurostar’. Now almost one year later, only the Zygopetalum is developing 2 flower spikes. The Dancing Lady grows very well with many new bulbs, but there is no sign of flower spikes at all. When the Beallara orchid was bought it was a very small plant with only 1 backbulb and 1 flowering bulb. So far it has grown another new bulb, but no flower spike is growing.

Zygopetalum maculatum:

The plant is vigorous, the long and wide leaves grow quite large. I have noticed that the flower spikes grow at the same time as the new bulb, side by side. I found it a little bit odd. It seems that growing this orchid is quite easy, but the plant is prone to black spots. Ours has suffered from few black spots, but after I avoid the foliage from getting wet, it seems that it is not getting worse and the spots kind of faded. I read that Zygopetalum hates to have the leaves wet and also it needs good air circulation to avoid fungal problems.

Zygopetalum maculatum

Zygopetalum maculatum Orchid April 2015

Zygoptalum maculatum - Flower spikes

Zygopetalum maculatum flower spikes – April 16, 2015

Zygopetalum maculatum - Black Spots

Zygopetalum maculatum – Black Spots

Oncidium Alliance ‘Dancing Lady’ Orchid:

It has grown few new bulbs, the plant and roots look very healthy, but I don’t know why it is not growing flower spikes. Parhaps the new bulbs are not mature enough to bear flowers? Maybe…. that I have just to get more patient😦

Dancing Lady Orchid sp.

Dancing Lady Orchid sp.

Beallara ‘Eurostar’ Orchid:

I bought another Oncidium intergeneric orchid last year known as Beallara ‘Eurostar’ and the reason I bought it because I love the look of the flowers. Though the plant was very small with only a backbulb and a single flowering bulb, I bought it anyway. People prefer to buy orchids that have several bulbs as they will easily flower again the next year. Now it has grown one more bulb but it doesn’t seem that it will have flowers this year.

Beallara 'Eurostar'

Beallara ‘Eurostar’

Previous writing on the same subjects:
https://kiyanti2008.wordpress.com/2014/06/22/zygopetalum-maculatum-orchid/
https://kiyanti2008.wordpress.com/2014/06/13/dancing-lady-orchid/

I hate fake plants and flowers, but I find this quotation is very amusing:

My fake plants died because I did not pretend to water them – Mitch Hedberg