Flowering Plum Tree

Flowering Plum Tree

It is now sunny, but cold and windy. The wind chimes in the back veranda are tinkling loudly. The gardens haven’t fully bloomed yet, as most flowers are still in buds. The plum tree is now showing its white blooms, but the pear trees still look bare with no signs of neither flowers nor leaves. Two Genista racemosa plants are absolutely full of long pointy flower buds with few yellow petals have started to poke out. In a few week time they will certainly show off their bright yellow blooms.

Plum Flowers

Plum Flowers

The orange Goldfish and Shubunkins have started to get more active swimming around near the surface of the water to enjoy the warmth of spring. They are getting bigger and bigger and the babies are also growing more round and plump.

Goldfish

Near the front door

Near the front door

Always look bright and pretty, these African daisies (Osteospermum) always look beautiful in photos. Whatever colours; white, mauve, yellow or pink they are always beautiful to capture with a camera.

African Daisy

African Daisy

Pieris japonica is also known as Lily of the Valley shrub. A very versatile Japanese native plant with nice bell flowers and colourful new leaves. It needs cooler climate to grow and does very well here in Melbourne. A small compact shrub that is very easy to grow and no need to prune at all. Well drain soil and a little bit of compost/humus dressing in spring will make this plant happy.

Pieris japonica - close up

Pieris japonica – close up

Pieris japonica

Pieris japonica

Without noticing the orange fruits, I would have forgotten that we have this Foxtail fern (Asparagus densiflorus) that is grown in a large pot. The long arching plumes of bushy leaves look so untidy. I have to repot it to look nicer.

Foxtail Fern Fruits

Foxtail Fern Fruits

Few days ago, suddenly I remembered my white Cyclamen. I took the mauve and pink ones out of the dark place under the bench where I kept them after finish flowering. I completely forgot the third white one.  I started to look everywhere. I even thought that my husband had thrown it away because it just looked like a pot with dead plants. But hubby said he did not throw anything out. Few days ago when I found it underneath the water tank, the  two shrivelled corms had started to grow tiny leaves and flower buds. The soil was very dry and the new growths did not look good at all. I moved them in the veranda and watered it. Now they still look stressed and not growing at all. Maybe it is much too late.

Mauve Cyclamen

Mauve Cyclamen

Forgotten White Cyclamen

Forgotten White Cyclamen

I haven’t finished repotting the bonsai trees. Most of the deciduous leaves are still in buds except the Trident Maple (Acer buergerianum) where the young leaves have started to grow.

Young leaves - Trident Maple Bonsai

Young leaves – Trident Maple Bonsai

I love spring anywhere, but if I could choose I would always greet it in a garden. ~Ruth Stout