One benefit to buy an orchid seedling is the more affordable price. Cymbidium orchid seedlings are normally grown from seeds, especially those from a new release hybrid. However, it will take around 5 years for the seedling to mature and to grow more bulbs to flower. This long wait will not always run smoothly, as a small plant it is harder to look after than those of mature ones.

Noid Cymbidium grown from a seedling

I bought a Cymbidium orchid seedling long time ago, in memory it was long before I started to blog here in 2008. It could be more than 7 years ago. The seedling struggled and the leaves were stunted, the bulbs refused to develop properly. Later, on one stage almost all of the new bulbs were rotten away. I did not throw it away though, instead I kept it under the pear tree in the back yard for few years and it was completely neglected, until one day (I think around 2 years ago) I noticed that it had recovered and looked quite healthy with bigger new foliage and bulbs. I repotted it and started to feed and water it properly and this year it has grown 2 flower spikes.

I forgot what kind of Cymbidium hybrid it is, but the old tag says it is Alex Muffet ‘Orchidworld’. I cannot wait until the flower buds open. From this experience, I’ve come into a conclusion that Cymbidium orchids are generally quite tough, and growing them here in Melbourne is easier because of the mild weather that we have. But… will I buy another seedling? The answer is no, I am too impatient to wait. For me, it is better to buy the one that in flower, though it costs more, it is worth the money.

Cymbidium grown from a seedling, first flowering.

Cymbidium grown from a seedling, first flowering.

Second Spike

Second Spike

August 03, 2014:

The growing anticipation is mounting!!! I check the buds of the supposed to be Cymb. Alex Muffet ‘Orchid World’ every day. They are getting bigger but still have not opened yet. The colour of the buds is a mixture of maroon, pink with a tint of green. Guessing the colours of the petals and sepals can be correct but it is not so with the labellum. Just have to wait until it opens………….

Anticipation mounted

Grown from a Seedling

Grown from a Seedling

August 10, 2014:

It is not Alex Muffet ‘Orchid world’, instead it is an unknown hybrid with rounder sepals and petals. The colours are unusual, kind of pink with maroon stripes. Both the sepals and petals have greenish cream edges. The lip and throat are dark maroon with patches of black and cream. It is a small cymbidium but not really a miniature. One of the buds has started to open:

Noid - Grown from seedling

Noid – Grown from seedling