Front Part of the House

Front Part of the House June 1, 2014

This first week of Winter here in Melbourne and the surrounding area will be mostly cloudy and wet. Now the sky looks grey and the air is still with hardly any wind blowing. The temperature is mild 16 deg. C.

This morning I was planning to trim some of the plants, but the on and off drizzles persisted. It was not really a good day to work in the garden. All day everything is quiet, except few occasional noises of black birds, spotted turtle doves and Indian miners that are still foraging for food, I can hear their occasional chirping and cooing.

Anyway, few plants are flowering to help brighten up dreary winter days. The pear and Washington hawthorn trees have lost all the foliage and the naked branches are drenched. Others that are evergreen look fresh because of the cool and wet air.

Grey Winter Day June 3-2014

Grey Winter Day June 3-2014

_____________***_____________

Crassula ovata plants are blooming. The little white starlike flowers help to add winter colour as ours are snowless. These jade plants flower twice a year, in early spring and early winter.

Crassula ovata - Flowers

Crassula ovata – Flowers

Blooming Crassula ovata

Blooming Crassula ovata

The Zygo  or Crab-claw cacti are also blooming:

Red Zygo Cactus Flower

Red Zygo Cactus Flower

Mauve colour - Crab Claw/Zygo cactus.

Mauve colour – Crab Claw/Zygo cactus.

Zygo Cactus

Zygo Cactus

Some of the spikes/flower buds of Cymbidium orchids have some bugs, I think they are some kind of spiders. I have to spray them with Pyrethrum:

Cymbidium Orchid Flower Buds

Cymbidium Orchid Flower Buds

Miniature Cymbidium Spikes

Miniature Cymmbidium Spikes

Cymbidium Flower Buds

Cymbdium Orchid Spike

The pink Cane Begonia (Angel Wing Begonia – Begonia coccinea) is growing extremely well and blooming, while the white one is still recovering from the high summer heat few months ago and the flowers are small.

Flowering Cane Begonia

Pink Cane Begonia Flowers

Pink Cane Begonia Flowers

Last thing worth noticing is the Senecio globosa, I have to remember that it grows foliage during the cold months of the winter and not during hot months of summer!!!

Senecio globosa

Senecio globosa

“The garden talks to me . This is my passion, where my creative energies come alive. Amidst the forest of native plants, grasses, herbs, spring bulbs, brilliant deciduous autumn trees, orchids and roses are emerging in pots and across archways. The garden is ever changing, just like the weather and me. I walk in it, sit in it, marvel at it and drink it in. I dream of what I can do, then I make it happen, bit by bit. And then I walk, sit, marvel and drink it in some more.”

CHRISTINE LISTER, The Hidden Journey