Another note about our Cattleya orchid (NOID).

Flowers grow from near roots

Guess what? I spotted what is called a Cattleya sheath. It is where the flower bud will immerge. From the slightly transparent sheath I can see a bud. I am sure it will be another bloom! I am so very-very pleased.

My husband said that I was like a little kid with a brand new toy. Completely obsessed! Yes, I am really captivated by my very first Cattleya orchid. I read many articles and watched videos about it. How to grow it and all about the plant characteristics. From all that I have learned so far, all Cattleya flowers grow from the bottom of the leaves, so it is on the top of the long Pseudobulb.

Now the question is this: Why my Cattleya flower stem is growing from the bottom of the Pseudobulb near the roots? The flower sheath is also growing from the bottom. What kind of Cattleya hybrids that bear flowers this way? So far I haven’t found the answer.

Another Flower

January 10, 2013: I have found a little bit of answers about Cattleya flowers that grow from the base near the roots (actually from the rhizome). Also known as basal flower/inflorescence or rhizanthoid Cattleyas:

  • Cattleya walkeriana: (Walker’s Cattley’s) is a species of orchid. It differs from most species of Cattleya by having inflorescence which arise from the rhizome instead of from the apex of the Pseudobulb (Wikipedia)
  • Cattleya nobilior , which means the ‘more Noble Cattleya’,  referring to the flowers which are larger than those of C. walkeriana, another rhizanthoid Cattleyas, differ from most Cattleyas by having inflorescence which arise directly from the rhizome (Wikipedia).

So if there are Cattleya species that have basal flowers, there is a chance that my Cattleya is the result of a cross with one of those orchids. How interesting…..🙂

____________________________ ***____________________________

11 Jan. 2014: One negative thing about Cattleyas, especially the unifoliate species is that the flowers don’t last very long. After having Phalaenopsis orchids in which the blooms last for more than 4 months and Cymbidiums that last over 2 – 3 months, it is really disappointing to see my Cattleya flower has already shown a sign of decline (only 4 days I brought it home). The edges of the thin petals have already started to thin out/dry out. Next time I will try to buy the bifoliate one as they say the flowers last longer. Maybe I will only have two or three Cattleyas, I hate to see orchids that don’t last long…. especially after all the efforts to look after them. Like my hubby always says…. you cannot win it all.