Last Saturday December 7, I went to visit a friend in Coburg. The warm and sunny weather made the visit enjoyable. We went to Vasili’s Garden Centre and Café in Munro st. Coburg. A small nursery and interesting café. We just looked around to see the plants there. My friend bought a small pot of miniature palm and later at her place, the palm was divided into two small clumps and she gave one to me. After visiting the nursery we went to Preston market to have lunch, looked around and bought a bit of vegetables.

From Preston market, we went to Lalor to visit my friend’s niece and another window shopping in Epping Plaza.

Anyway, to cut the story short, she also gave me her neglected and dying orchid plant. She doesn’t know what kind of orchid it is. What I saw was small stunted kind of pseudo-bulbs with a bit of small and thick leaves. It could be some kind of miniature Dendrobium.  The poor orchid was grown in ordinary potting mix and the pot was full of clover weeds. She said that I can have and save it, nice pink flowers…… Apparently this orchid plant was given to my friend from her other friend. It was flowering when it was given to her, but many years went by and it never bloomed again. It was kind of forgotten and neglected in her front garden exposed to all weather elements.

So another mystery orchid! At home I took the miserable orchid plant out of the pot, cleaned all the soil, the weeds and also got rid of the dead bulbs and stems. I repotted them into a slightly smaller pot with a special orchid medium. I finished it up by giving the plant a drink of seaweed fertilizer:)

See what is going to happen in the next few weeks…. Oh yes, I planted the mini palm in a pot, but later I plan to add it into the terrarium. I am not so sure what kind of palm, but it is really tiny. I hope it will stay small.

Close up No-Id Orchid

Close up No-Id Orchid

Saving Dying No-Id Orchid - Top View

Saving Dying No-Id Orchid – Top View

Miniature Palm

Miniature Palm