Hove x Solana Beach X Tracey Reddaway

Someone that I have known since university time in Indonesia long time ago, also grows Cymbidium orchids. We did a swap, I gave her my yellow noid cymbidium and in return she let me have a much better hybrid. It is a cross between ‘Hove’ x ‘Solana Beach’ and ‘Tracey Reddaway’. The colour is soft apricot yellow and it is very large. The leaves are big and long as big as the Cym. tracyanum that I bought this year. But most of all, the flowers are exceptionally big. The single long and arching spike bears 25 flowers. Thank you, Rieka…. It was very generous of you. I think I will give you another one of mine… the miniature variety that you never have, so you can hang it somewhere on your balcony.

Almost all the cymbidiums that I have are either medium or miniature sizes. The only large one that I have ever bought is the C. tracyanum. It is not that I don’t like the large standard variety, it is more of the minimal space where we keep them. Our back yard is not very big and it will be much too crowded with too many large cymbidium plants. Many of our cymbidiums are the miniature that are grown in hanging pots to save some space. Our front yard is much bigger than the back one, but it is certainly not a good  place to keep orchids. I have big problems with people help themselves picking some of my flowers. Imagine if I keep precious orchid plants there, probably all will dissapear overnight…..

Hove x Solana Beach X Tracey Reddaway

Hove x Solana Beach X Tracey Reddaway