Few months ago my husband came back home with some seeds to grow. I asked what kind of seeds and he said some things that could be eaten later. It was kind of surprise to me as he was never interested in gardening before.

Anyway, few weeks later I saw that the seeds had started to grow. I could see they were some tomatoes, corns and something else along the back row. They had large heart shaped leaves. I was not so sure of them, so I asked him what they were. His answer was that he had forgotten and that he just planted the seeds there and threw the packagings in the bin.

The mystery plants grew taller and taller. Only few survived as snails and caterpillars had eaten most of them before they had a chance to grow bigger. Here from my window I could gaze at the mysterious tall plants with wide leaves and wondering what they were. Until one day I noticed that they started to grow flower buds. OMG! They were sunflowers. Ha…… The mystery was eventually solved.

I caught some of the naughty green caterpillars that had eaten many of my hubby’s plants and put them in a large glass jar. Soon after, they shrivelled and covered themselves with some kind of  white woolly net in the process of metamorphosis. One of them has changed into a small skipper butterfly or moth? (I’m not very sure). 

 Until now only two of the sunflower buds have opened. One is very large that grow towering above the fence and the other one is shorter and small. I love the bright golden colour.

Ah Sunflower

Ah Sunflower, weary of time,

Who countest the steps of the sun;

Seeking after that sweet golden clime

Where the traveller’s journey is done;

Where the Youth pined away with desire,

And the pale virgin shrouded in snow,

Arise from their graves, and aspire

Where my Sunflower wishes to go!

A Poem by: William Blake