The red rose whispers of passion,
And the white rose breathes of love;
O, the red rose is a falcon,
And the white rose is a dove.

(Quotation written by: John Boyle O’Reilly)

 

I have to admit that I am not a rose person. Growing roses for me is just that every garden should have them. Many people say that a garden is missing something without a rose bush or two.

Though some rose plants can survive neglects and extreme conditions such as long drought, but I find that most of them need certain degree of care. Pruning, fertilizing, taking care of pests and black spots are necessary in order for the plant to grow and produce well. Lately with so many rains, black spots have become really troublesome.

Yes, rose blooms are truly beautiful, but I hate the sharp curvy thorns, even the leaf stems are often thorny. Ouch, ouch….! They really hurt my fingers.

Anyway, these are the roses in my garden. Most of them I know the names but few of the old ones that we bought long time ago, we have lost the recollection of their names.