This morning I went shopping. After I had done and ready to leave, my car would not start. I turned the ignition on and it just went ‘click, click, click’. The radio was going and the lights and blinkers worked, so I thought it was not the battery. I certainly hoped it was nothing serious and costly to fix.

Anyway, I rang RACV (Royal Automobile Club of Victoria) for roadside assistance. I was surprised that my mobile phone call got an answer immediately. Well, the operator told me that I had to wait about 15 minutes. Once again I was surprised that it was quick this time.

While waiting, I opened the hood of the car so that the RACV mechanic would spot my car easier. While I was doing this, the owner of the car next to mine in the shopping centre car park was coming and she saw me opening the engine hood. The young lady with a small baby smiled to me and asked if I was having problem with my car and needed help. I smiled back to her and I told her that my car could not start, but I had called RACV. She wished me good luck and hoped that it was not a big problem and that the RACV guy would come quickly.

It was pretty windy and cold, but I decided not to sit in the car. The car park was busy.  If I was waiting outside, I would easily spot the RACV car when it was coming and so that I could sign where I was. I did not wear warm clothes and I could feel the chill of the southern wind. It was a good idea for me to wait in front of the supermarket away from the wind while I still could watch my car from a far. When I was approaching the covered front part of the shop, a very young man who was collecting shopping trolleys asked if I needed any help with my car. Obviously he saw my car with the open bonnet. He added that if I needed to make a phone call, I could use the phone in the shop. I thanked him and said that I had called RACV and now I was just waiting for the road service to come.

I was feeling happy and thankful that some people that I didn’t know at all cared. It is not true that in this busy life people don’t care to each other. Here in the busy car park people showed concerns for my car problem. Was it just my lucky day? No, it was not my lucky day as my car could not start, but I was sure that there were still many decent people who care for others.

To cut the story short, when the RACV man checked my car, it was the clamp on the car battery terminal that needed to be changed. He started the engine for me and said that I should not turn off the engine until I arrived at our family mechanic. It was a simple problem after all. Yes it was certainly my very lucky day.

